Under current federal law, states can opt-out of Daylight Saving Time, but they can not choose to have year-round Daylight Saving Time (DST). Arizona and Hawaii are the two states that have opted-out of DST. Arizona opted-out in the 1960s and Hawaii has never observed DST. Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands also do not observe DST.

States such as California, Oregon, and North Carolina are debating bills in their state legislatures to make DST year-round. Florida passed a bill in 2018 to have DST year-round. However, Florida was not able to implement this due to the existing federal law. Other states such as Texas, Oklahoma, and Kansas are debating bills to opt-out of DST altogether. Massachusetts and Maine are also considering similar legislation.

At the federal level, President Trump tweeted this year that,
“Making Daylight Saving Time permanent is O.K. with me!” Senator Marco Rubio also introduced a bill in 2019 that would states to implement year-round DST.

The best choice for states is to simply opt-out of Daylight Saving Time, which is currently allowed under federal law.